Have You Watched This Documentary About MPD?

June 23, 2011

*The following link is to an HBO documentary about MPD. Some may find it triggering*

This documentary may be familiar to people, but I only found it recently:

http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/multiple-personalities/

 

I relate very closely with the last woman’s story, including what happens when she switches. My husband and I were even discussing some similar things that have happened with us earlier this week. I liked this documentary and I really liked to see that many of the people credited at the end are people I know through books or through my therapist.

How do you feel about this film?

5 Responses to “Have You Watched This Documentary About MPD?”

  1. tai0316 Says:

    I always have to be careful that these things don’t make me angry. What do you think Lisa, is it a fair representation?

    • roseroars Says:

      Oh yeah. It is simply presented, explained a bit, and three people and their day-to-day lives are shown. I didn’t have any problem and while I was watching the last woman I kept thinking “Wow! It happened to someone else, too!”.

      It’s not empowering, I didn’t learn anything new (except the treatment the first woman received), there is no discussion, it’s just a camera showing you these people and a part of their lives.

  2. empty Says:

    I was reading some of the comments on the website with the documentary. Too much ignorance.

    I thought it was interesting. I’m like the first girl, never knowing what’s going on when I’ve lost time.

    There were parts more difficult to watch than others, but I’m glad I watched it.

    It was very informative for myself, since I’m still new to a lot of it.

    Thanks for sharing the link.

    jo

    • roseroars Says:

      I’m glad you watched it. During the police officer’s story I fast-forwarded to the last woman, so I didn’t watch all of his, mainly because I hate men and find it hard to believe anything they say (I’m working on that in therapy, too).

      I can’t imagine going through therapy the first woman did. Too much, too fast.


Leave a comment