Therapy and Thinking

October 22, 2010

“It pays to be present to see what is now, and not occupied in the memory – which is then, and a bridge to a robber of a different kind.” – Mark Berkery (http://beingmark.com)

Mark is a macro photographer, and this quote accompanies a series of photos of an assassin fly that had captured a meal while he was watching. It reminded me of the intense work my therapist and I did yesterday, and how I have been fighting to stay present. I am working to stay in the now while at the same time being aware that my personal past was robbed. I say now that I won’t be physically be killed, but the innocent little girl who was me was robbed and killed in every other aspect.

My therapist was explaining some reasons why I did certain, strange (to me) behaviors as a child and still as an adult. Her words were nearly the exact same as my husband has said over the years, only the situation with my husband was different. I react the same way I did as a child to certain intimate situations with my husband. Last night I decided to share that with him and he cried with me and held me until I fell asleep. I also told him that yesterday during therapy was the first time in my life that I felt a teeny bit of hope for me in that particular area – sexual intimacy. I am still not entirely hopeful about much else, and I’m not going to get too excited about it, but it’s a little something to look forward to.

Shortly after I was home I wrote a few sentences in my journal. Sometimes it helps me to physically see and say out loud how I feel rather than say it in my head:

I was held down, suppressed and made an object of lust, abuse, sex, control, and disgust. I was made inhuman and I was expected to want it, like it, and expect more. That is wrong. It was not my choice. I was just a child.

Those sentences are fairly straightforward and simplistic, but for me they are powerful. They reflect some of the release work we are doing in therapy. I’m not worried any longer about “getting this crap over with”. I’m beginning to see that there is a rhythm that only I have and I am working very hard to move to that rhythm. As so many of you have said, this is probably the hardest work I will ever do, and I have no idea what any outcome may be.

With that said and out of my system I have an observation to share. If you have an intense therapy session, but you still need to do some shopping, you get much better service if you go to a counter or salesperson while crying and visibly shaken.



14 Responses to “Therapy and Thinking”

  1. tai0316 Says:

    I’m so happy for you! I don’t know if that’a weird thing to say after reading your post but I got such a feeling of hope from you that I’m just really happy for you. 🙂 You know that what happened to you was wrong and not your fault and you see hope. *High Five* It’s also a big step to realize that you can’t look at it as just “getting it over with” so-to-speak, that was a great point too about your own rhythm.
    AND how proud of your husband am I!? That was so special!!! I’m glad therapy, while intense, was also so helpful. 🙂

    Thanks for the shopping tip 😛

    • roseroars Says:

      Thanks! It’s nice to be hopeful about one thing, which I guess is really a big thing. Hubby was great. I hope I can keep up better with this progress.

      I’m NOT kidding about the shopping tip. It happens every time.

  2. meredith Says:

    Dear, Sweet Lisa;

    I am so proud of you for getting up every day and continuing to come to your life. You have come such a long way from the woman who was, until just recently, popping Xanax like Pez.

    Do you see what a strong, vibrant woman you are? I do.

    Woman, you are an Amazon. GOOD FOR YOU!

    big smiles, warm hugs, and high fives.

    ~meredith~

    YOU ARE AWESOME!!

  3. Nansie Says:

    Rose…that statement about being held down is a powerful one! It tells me that you are finally accepting that it was not your fault and you were not some wonton…lusty child that wanted it as our abusers would have us believe. Be strong with this conviction because I know I teeter back and forth with it with my parts. I was made to feel like a trouble maker when ever I spoke up. So I held it it and my mind fragmented as a result. I may bring that statement to my blog…if you don’t mind. It is powerful and a huge step in healing. Once you work with it for a while you’ll feel better and better. It takes time tho to filter down thru the parts and get them onboard. Atleast for me it is that way.
    Kudos to your husband….you are so fortunate…I know cuz my hubby is llike that too. I too have my difficulties with sexual intimacy. Someday I will write about it on my blog but for now it is not really clear to me what is happening. After we have sex it is like my soul collapses and I feel like the bottom of my life has just given out from under me and I sob uncontrollably. I do it in private and haven’t shared this with my husband yet. Such a burden and so much pain was placed on the shoulders of these little girls inside that we are getting to know. We must tell them everyday tho that WE are protecting them now and things are different.

    I am so sorry that we all share this pain and similar tragedies in our lives. But I happy to be part of a healing community that is going forward and dealing/coping. Once we can place the anger and blame where it belongs and be true to our conviction we will stop our self harm/hurting. I believe this anyway.

    • meredith Says:

      Nansie, you’re doing great. To have as much understanding of what i going on is amazing.

      The trauma you suffered IS up to you and your innards to work out, but the burden of what caused it is on your abuser’s shoulders. Put it where it belongs every time you start to feel like all this stuff is your fault. Make it your mission.

      You are doing great.

      ~meredith~

      • Nansie Says:

        Thank you Meredith…I needed to hear that. I will get stronger as time goes on…it is the little parts that are so brain washed. I am working on them and hopefully we’ll be able to get angry at the abusers instead of ourselves… 🙂 Thank you again!

    • roseroars Says:

      Of course I don’t mind! In therapy that day we were actually talking about “lusty children”. I was trying to understand some of my behaviors as an 8 year-old around men and boys, and she helped me understand that sex WAS my only relationship with boys and men. That was a big realization for me, and it helped me understand why I behaved certain ways back then and even now sometimes.

      Why haven’t you been blogging around here longer? You have a wonderful grasp of things and great advice and support. Thank you so much!

      • Nansie Says:

        Thank you Rose for the compliments. I was somewhat educated on this stuff in college but when it hit me…my education goes right out the window. Can’t for the life of me apply any of it to myself. If I can use any of it to help anyone else I am so happy to share. Expensive education I got…hmmm. DID took care of that tho. I do try to use it to calm myself and sometimes it works and mostly it doesn’t. It’s funny cuz I can sit and share all kinds of info…then I switch and feel like some helpless child on the run from the world…and no logic exists there. None of my young little parts can get onboard with placing blame where belongs. Its really hard to have parts clear on this and other parts not…kind of tugs you back and forth with little consistancy. I really admire all you guys know about yourselves. I am still learning with so far to go.
        It took me a long time to organize within and find a safe place to blog from? If that makes any sense. There are times when I have so much on my mind and so much to say and then go to do it and it vanishes. But I for the life of me cannot journel but I found blogging to be less threatening? Go figure! haha So I made a commitment to blog and try…days will go by where I write nothing cuz I go blank at times and can’t find the stuff in my head that I planned to write about….Me and my funky selves will get there. In the meantime tho…I have all of you and I like that! 🙂 You guys are nice to me.

  4. I'm DID & so am I Says:

    Thank you for sharing. It’s powerful and am proud of you. You have such a supportive husband and he’s lucky to have you.

    I’ll try the cryin and shopping next time. Great idea!

    jo

    • roseroars Says:

      Thanks, Jo! That seriously works when shopping. And I’m not doing it on purpose. I am just overwhelmed because of therapy, AND I won’t be in that city for at least another week. So yeah…I do what I gotta do whether I’m a mess or not sometimes.

      How is Esther feeling? Is her conjunctivitis gone?

      • I'm DID & so am I Says:

        Esther seems to be feeling just fine. But her eye is red. I’ve heard the Terramycin can sting. I’m probably going to take her back to the vet on Monday.

        Thanks for asking.

        jo

  5. castorgirl Says:

    This is so powerful Lisa…

    Teeny tiny bits of hope can snowball into bundles of hope and positive outcomes… I’m sure of it. I hope that for you.

    Take care,
    CG

    • roseroars Says:

      Thank you. Yesterday and today are very difficult, post-therapy days, so I’m working hard just to stay aware.


Leave a comment