Guess Who’s Coming For An Afternoon Visit?

July 3, 2010

Tomorrow the abusers are stopping by. I have not actually spoken to them in 3&1/2 months, but have sent curt e-mails to them. Everything is very structured – the time they will be here, where they will be, where my husband will be, and the time they will leave. I’m not very worried or concerned, but I am expecting the catholic guilt-trip my mother likes to use, and the “your grandmother will be dead soon” speech. I know what I would like to say, but I won’t because it would cause more problems and I’m not going to deal with that right now. I’m not worried about them coming here, either. I just don’t care. I’ve written them off, they know it, and they will behave like they are drowning and I need to save them. The visit will be chock-full of what my duties and responsibilities should be, eyes averting when the truth sneaks in, forced laughter, fakey smiles, etc., and trying to get me to make promises about whatever. It’s been played out this way for over 20 years. In the past I’ve given in and paid dearly for it, even to the point of being sexually abused again when I was 28 years old.

I think they really understand that they have no power over me anymore and this visit may be a desperate grasp at getting some of that power back. That’s okay. I feel ambivalent and apathetic now but it could be a rough few days after they leave.

So, I’ll pop the Xanax before they arrive,  make sure hubby is nearby, fake smile my way through it, and say things like “Perhaps”, “Maybe”, and most importantly, “No.”. I no longer even need to practice that last response anymore and that feels good.

7 Responses to “Guess Who’s Coming For An Afternoon Visit?”

  1. castorgirl Says:

    Good luck for tomorrow/today… It will be difficult, but it sounds like you’ve got some awesome coping mechanisms and safety plans in place – good on you!!!

    I’m liking that you don’t have difficulty with “No” anymore 🙂

    Have you got soothing and grounding things planned for the few days after they’ve visited? Plan ahead if you can, so that even if you don’t feel like doing them, there will be some cause for you to try.

    Sending you lots of positive thoughts…
    Take care,
    CG

    • roseroars Says:

      Hmm…thumb-sucking and fetal positions aren’t soothing? Actually I just finished a crochet project, so finding a new pattern will be fun. I’m making some of the crafts from one of Kate1975’s lists, the kids and I started a new anime series, and I have video games and sewing fixes to work on. The kids will keep me busy, too, and then there’s always the joys of therapy on Wednesday.

      It won’t be easy today, but I honestly feel it will be manageable. Thanks for the positivity!

  2. tai0316 Says:

    Why are they coming!? Why do you have to see them!? My stomach’s sick for you again! I know it has nothing to do with me but I don’t like this for you. Ok, I’m going to join CG in sending positive thoughts and I’m really happy your husband will be nearby. Just remember: you are awesome and strong and they can’t hurt you anymore. They have no power over you and it may piss them off but that just makes it better. High Five!

    • roseroars Says:

      Oh, it’s okay for right now. I used to have another blog where I kind of delineated how it’s better to ease into no-contact than suddenly break it off. This is just the way I’ve chosen to do it, and I have many reasons for it. We’ve already ended contact with one side of the family and my sister, and within a year we’ll be done with the rest. Hubby and I have gone over it and feel this is the way to do it best.

      It will be an annoying visit but that’s about it, and it’s only for 2 hours as per my instructions.

      It’s true they can’t physically hurt me anymore, but emotionally I’m still not completely detached. Last night I felt a little girl inside and she was very upset because “they’re my PARENTS!”, and she couldn’t understand why so many of us felt differently. I decided then to place several of the younger parts in a safe, special playroom for the day.

      Thanks for writing. I feel a little sick to my stomach, too, but it will be over soon.

  3. castorgirl Says:

    I also wonder how much influence their impending visit has had on your suicidal issues of late??? Even though the adult parts of you may feel like it’s doable, other parts of the system will be reeling with the knowledge you’re going to see them again…

    Take care,
    CG

    • roseroars Says:

      Oh you *shakes fist in air*! Stop making sense already!

      We all had a little meeting last night and we will do everything we can internally to make sure we feel safe. Thank you for that reminder, though, because I nearly forgot to do something like that.

  4. roseroars Says:

    Just wanted to say that the visit was safe, but annoying. I’ve got some interesting things to tell my therapist, too, but the best thing I did was to put the younger parts in a very safe place long before they got here.


Leave a comment